More info about shipping


More info about rates & qualities

Gramophone Editor's Choices: 30 Years of Channel Classics Records

Various Artists

Vivaldi, Kapsberger, Anonymous, Telemann, Buxtehude, Mozart, Purcell, Verdi, Rachmaninoff, Dvorak, Biber, Mahler, and more..

SKU: SEL7120

Year of release: 2020

1. Concerto No. 12: Allegro (From: La Stravaganza) Vivaldi 03:38
2. Toccata Arpeggiata (From: Masters of Lute) Kapsberger 02:51
3. Tota salutis (From: Bolivian Baroque, Vol. 2) Anonymous 05:35
4. Quatuor No. 1 in D Major: Vite (From: Paris Quartets, Vol. 2) Telemann 03:19
5. O Gottes Stadt, BuxWV 87 (From: Death & Devotion) Buxtehude 08:49
6. Sonata in C Major KV 6: Allegro Molto (From: Sonatas for Keyboard and Violin, Vol. 1) Mozart 03:32
7. Sound the Trumpet (From: Tintomara) Purcell 02:23
8. String Quartet in E Minor: Andantino (From: Tchaikovsky, Verdi) Verdi 07:27
9. Symphony No. 2: Allegro molto (From: Rachmaninoff - Symphony No. 2) Rachmaninoff 10:13
10. Suite in A Minor: Andante (From: Dvorák - Symphony No. 7 & Suite in A Major) Dvorak 04:14
11. Rosary Sonatas: Passacaglia (From: Guardian Angel) Biber 08:52
12. Symphony No. 3: Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck (From: Mahler - Symphony No. 3) Mahler 04:05
13. Sensemaya (From: Homenaje a Revueltas) Revueltas 04:43
Total time: 69:46

About this album

Channel Classics Records is celebrating their 30th anniversary this year! Over the years, Jared Sacks – founder, producer and engineer – has worked with Rachel Podger, Iván Fischer and his Budapest Festival Orchestra, Ning Feng, Paolo Giacometti, Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Netherlands Bach Society, Rick Stotijn, Pieter Wispelwey, Rosanne Philippens, and many others. Most recently we welcomed pianist Anna Fedorova to the Channel Family of Artists. Resulting in a total of 435 recordings to date! 

Jared Sacks emphasizes that Channel Classics is a promotion/marketing company. We help artists further their careers through the highest possible resolution audio (DSD) recordings and proactive contact with press and distributors worldwide. We keep track of what the artists do and where they are, and we always try to organize sales, signings, interviews and other promotional activities.

“Without magazines, newspapers, forums, blogs, the radio and TV shows to support my recordings, I would have never made it to 30 years! I am grateful for the continuous support of the press. Illustrative for this is the wonderful collaboration with classical music magazine Gramophone, whose reviewers have awarded no less than 43 Channel Classics recordings with an ‘Editor’s Choice’ over the years. Editor-inChief James Jolly selected thirteen tracks for our 30th anniversary compilation album. Each of those tracks derive from an album that has won an ‘Editor’s Choice’ award. The resulting album features Florilegium, Rachel Podger, Wim Van Hasselt, Iván Fischer and his Budapest Festival Orchestra, Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Matthew Wadsworth, Arte dei Suonatori, The Netherlands Bach Society, Gary Cooper and the Ebony Band.

I am grateful to have a fantastic team here at Channel Classics to promote our artists. Marian, Floor, Ad, Lydi and Jonas have been working together for many years to bring the recordings into the world. Their artwork, campaigns, ideas, commitment and their personal approach to all of the partners – artists, managements, distributors, designers, and all involved – is what makes it possible to share my recordings with you, and to put a spotlight on the artists.”

Download booklet

Technical Specifications

Mastering EngineerJared Sacks
Recording Notes

13 Tracks were recorded in DSD between 2002 and 2016 in Various locations. 
Visit the album pages to find more info about these Tracks

Recording FormatDSD
Analog To Digital ConverterGrimm ADC, Horus Merging Technologies
Recording DateVarious
Recording LocationVarious
Recording EngineerJared Sacks
ProductionJared Sacks