More info about shipping


More info about rates & qualities

"Silhouettes" Clarke, Milhaud, Debussy, Enescu, Werkman

Dana Zemtsov, Anna Fedorova

Rebecca Clarke, Claude Debussy, Arne Werkman, Darius Milhaud, George Enescu

SKU: 42320

Year of release: 2020

Rebecca Clarke: Sonata for Viola & Piano 24:48
1. Sonata for Viola & Piano: I. Impetuoso Rebecca Clarke 08:53
2. Sonata for Viola & Piano: II. Vivace Rebecca Clarke 04:44
3. Sonata for Viola & Piano: III. Adagio-Allegro Rebecca Clarke 11:10
4. Debussy: La Plus que Lente Claude Debussy 04:42
Arne Werkman: Suite for Viola and Piano 12:47
5. Suite for Viola and Piano, Op. 51: I. Allemande Arne Werkman 02:55
6. Suite for Viola and Piano, Op. 51: II. Branle Arne Werkman 02:17
7. Suite for Viola and Piano, Op. 51: III. Pavane Arne Werkman 04:54
8. Suite for Viola and Piano, Op. 51: IV. Tarantella Arne Werkman 02:39
9. Debussy: Clair de Lune Claude Debussy 04:32
Darius Milhaud: Sonata No.1 for Viola and Piano, Op. 240 13:00
10. Sonata No.1 for Viola and Piano, Op. 240: I. Entrée Darius Milhaud 03:11
11. Sonata No.1 for Viola and Piano, Op. 240: II. Française Darius Milhaud 02:29
12. Sonata No.1 for Viola and Piano, Op. 240: III. Air Darius Milhaud 04:27
13. Sonata No.1 for Viola and Piano, Op. 240: IV. Final Darius Milhaud 02:52
14. Enescu: Concert Piece for Viola and Piano George Enescu 09:22
15. Debussy: Beau Soir Claude Debussy 02:27
Total time: 71:40

About this album

Two Channel Classics artists violist Dana Zemtsov and pianist Anna Fedorova joined forces when they discovered they have a mutual friend.

‘Do you know that feeling when coming to a new place as if the atmosphere you are in has been with you forever, recognizing it like an old friend? 
Our upbringing was similar and filled with Guy de Maupassant, Gustave Flaubert, Victor Hugo, Alexandre Dumas, Jean de La Fontaine, Pierre Richard, Louis de Funès, Georges Brassens, Édith Piaf, Charles Trenet. This could be a logical explanation for us both experiencing this sense of familiarity every time we cross the border to France. Or maybe we have lived some of our previous lives in these surroundings that they seem so close to us?
This is by no means a story about France. Each piece in this album has its own story, its own thoughts, and feelings. However, throughout it, if you listen with your eyes closed, you will occasionally sense the presence of a furtive silhouette ‘à la Française’.
— Dana Zemtsov & Anna Fedorova

Download booklet


Technical Specifications

SpeakersGrimm LS1
Digital To Analog ConverterDSD 256 Horus, Merging Technologies
Mastering EngineerC. Jared Sacks
EditingPyramix, Merging Technologies
CablesVan den Hul
MicrophonesBruel & Kjaer 4006, Schoeps
Recording FormatDSD 256
Recording LocationMCO, Hilversum, The Netherlands
Recording EngineerC. Jared Sacks
ProductionC. Jared Sacks